hotdogsoup

Sesame Brown Rice Croquettes

In Sides, Vegetarian on February 25, 2011 at 5:55 pm


Four years ago I had a roommate from Brazil that made brown rice cakes. I freaked out over them and have been making them ever since. I’ve long forgotten exactly what she puts in hers but here is my version. I hope you enjoy it! Vegetarians love it too!

Ingredients:

2 cups cooked brown rice (best the next day. I always make extra when I make stir-fry)

1/3 cup grated parmesan or Romano cheese

1 egg (room temp)

1/4 cup sesame seeds

2 tbs cornmeal

couple dashes hot sauce

Lawrey’s or your favorite season salt to taste

Pepper

Mix all ingredients by hand, melt butter or use your favorite fat to cook in a skillet with. I used a touch of grapeseed oil.

Make into patties (I used a scoop…forgot the number, it’s the big one!) flatten into hot oil. Cook about 2:30 each side until golden.

I like to serce it with a grilled chicken and strawberry on arugula salad. Sometimes with black eye peas and turnip greens.

Healthier than fries!

Delicious with Frank's Red Hot

Leave a Reply

