hotdogsoup

Pan-Seared Swordfish with Browned Butter Balsamic Glaze

In Fish on July 24, 2010 at 1:38 pm

I need to learn to shoot food...

I made this dish in March 2010 when the boyfriend was working a suck-shift *1 pm-9pm* and I was eating alone. Something I hate. I went to Whole Foods in search of something I have never prepared. I found wild caught swordfish. I quite like swordfish because it almost has the texture of beef steak and tastes like, well, fish. It goes well with a strong glaze or seasoning.

Another new-to-me item was broccolini. Often used in Asian stir-fry broccolini is like a combination of asparagus and, uh, you guessed it: broccoli. I soon discovered I l-o-v-e it! It is very simple to prepare and I will include it in the recipe portion of this post. I didn’t add it to the title because it wouldn’t fit! I served acorn squash (to myself) to square up the meal.

Recipes:

Serves 4 Adults well

Ingredients:

4 Swordfish Steaks
1/2 Stick of butter
2 TBS Honey
1 TBS Dijon Mustard
3 TBS Balsamic Vinegar (get the good stuff, SO worth it)
Salt
Olive oil for brushing the steaks
Pepper

2 Bunches Broccolini
Olive oil for sautéing

2 Acorn Squash

Heat oven to 375*
Cut squash, scrape out seeds and gunk and add a pat of butter to the centers. Salt and pepper the cut sides and add a bit of brown sugar if that sounds good to you. Bake about an hour or until squash is soft.

Heat a grill pan or outdoor grill to medium high. Brush the steaks with olive oil and season with salt and pepper.

In a small sauce pan melt the butter on medium to medium-high and bring to a boil. WATCH it CAREFULLY and boil until butter begins to turn brown and add the balsamic, mustard and honey. Whisk sauce together and turn heat to low.

By now your grill should be hot. Add the oiled, seasoned steaks and cook about 4 minutes each side or until cooked to your preference.

For the broccolini: Sautée in olive oil and a bit of butter for about five minutes or until cooked crisp. Season with salt and pepper. Yummy.

To serve I add about a 1/4 cup of sauce to the plate and put the steak on top. This benefits the broccolini as well because, trust me, this sauce is mind blowing. So simple and so tasty.

I hope you enjoy this as much as I did. I made it for my dad’s birthday and he really enjoyed it as well.

Happy cooking!

~DMS

Leave a Reply

